Love, Laughter, and Life

Adventures With a Book Lover


Leave a comment

Book Report: Kelan and The Magical Glove by Kelan Davoud #BookBirthday

B1364340-6760-4108-8522-63C69FF73AD8

Kelan and The Magical Glove

Written by Kelan Davoud

Illustrated by Eric M. Strong

Mascot Books, March 2020

 

Kelan and The Magical Glove is a fun adventure for readers who love Legos, Fortnite, and using their imagination. Thank you, Mascot Books, for sending a review copy.

9FB71DBD-0ECB-4CE9-8C87-5EF93E8C50FA

*spoiler alert* Kelan and his best bud love Legos, Fortnite, and hanging out. But after one bullying session by Billy the Bully, Kelan has to use a long stick to retrieve his new Lego set from beneath poison ivy. That is when he discovers a sparkly glove. This magical glove turns Kelan’s creations into real life things! Kelan and his friend are able to soak Billy and his sidekick, but Billy promises revenge.

Kelan and The Magical Glove is full of boy adventures. Legos, gaming, and problem bullies. Using the fantasy of the magical glove, Kelan now has a resource to help him stop the bullies. Creative, imaginative, and full of fun. With illustrations resembling cartoons and graphic novels, elementary-aged readers will be drawn to the story and adventures. Lego lovers will dream of finding their own magical glove.

 

What I Liked About This Book:

~ Fun, imaginative, and problem-solving

~ The themes of friendship and bullies

~ The magical glove (I want one!)

~ Bright, colorful illustrations

~ The hint of further adventures, since Billy threatens revenge . . .

DC530290-E4DE-4233-A8F9-E83BE2ADE794

Amazon Blurb:

Kelan and his best friend Noah are fed up with bullies. At every turn, their tormenters come up with new and creative ways to make Kelan and Noah s lives miserable. Luckily, everything changes once Kelan finds a sparkly, colorful glove in the forest. They soon discover that whenever Kelan wears the glove, magical things start to happen! Finally, Kelan and Noah are able to put a stop to their bullies mean pranks. Join our friends as they figure out how to stand up for themselves with the help of one magical glove, a few Legos, and their imaginations!

Find Kelan and The Magical Glove at Amazon.

 


Leave a comment

Haiku Moment: pizza party

267E26FC-9973-41EF-9C29-A4520542D499

Homemade whole wheat pizza dough!

ten hands, knead and pound;

recipe for tasty treat,

Grand pizza party

 

pizza party by Angie Quantrell

09C9C2E2-3E6D-4CBF-ACA5-2454C2309666

The mandatory “silly face” photo

2FD3ED4E-5BF4-4C9D-8CBC-F0F5EF9E122A

Autumn, who loves pepperoni but not bread

860DB95A-2840-40BA-8F64-5829E667A9A1

Gage has just taken a big bite

B00217F6-90F0-4FAF-8A94-81DE3CBB6491

Donavyn knows how to smile, take a bite, AND pose at the same time

04259FDE-94E3-4EB3-8889-6C041D3579E0

Khloe also loves to ham it up for the camera (she is also super patient, as she had to wait for the second baking of pizza with Nana)

EAF5E91F-D4D3-41A6-B080-573FA2136E7C

Hayden who loves projects like this and wanted to make it again for dinner (and that boy can eat!)

9396A6F0-53C4-4380-99FA-E20361581AB5

1541893F-41F6-448F-98F7-859EF82470FF

 


2 Comments

Book Report: Be a Superhero in the Kitchen by Donna Glass #BookBirthday

74DE8F2B-7CF3-4FB8-BF2C-C65C2EAE95EE

Be a Superhero in the Kitchen

Written by Donna Glass

Illustrated by Alejandro Chamberlain

Mascot Books, March 2020

 

Friends, if you are stuck at home with young children (and most of us are right now, due to COVID-19), I have a great idea for you. It’s time to enlist your superheros and teach them to cook!

Why not? Plenty of time, cooking reinforces OH SO MANY skills (math, reading, science, nutrition, fine motor, life skills), and your enlistees will be SUPER happy to help you make a meal!

Thank you, Mascot Books , for sending a review copy of Be a Superhero in the Kitchen by Donna Glass. I didn’t know I was getting a very cool COOKBOOK!

Let’s dig in!

281E11FC-6B6E-4C87-8969-702F25D13BD5

Why I LOVED this Book:

~ Super colorful and engaging

~ Each page spread is an entire recipe, filled with simple directions, ingredient lists, and illustrations; Cautions are listed along the way

~ 20 different recipes are included for entrees and side dishes, desserts and breads, and even a beverage

~ Superhero Cooking Tips are listed right at the beginning of the book! Yay!

~ The superhero theme is wonderful. I love how it is continued throughout the entire book. Kids will LOVE being a SUPERHERO chef!

~ This book is perfect for teaching young readers and chefs how to TAB a favorite recipe with a sticky note. The age old method of quickly finding your place…

~ Well written, fun, interesting, and very useful

~ With so many families caring for and homeschooling their children and grandchildren right now, this “activity” book is perfect. Plus, you get help making dinner.

~ Scroll down to the bottom of this post and follow the link to order your own copy.

Let’s get cooking!

F70AB9AC-C177-444C-BFAD-035509530789

Amazon Blurb:

Every caregiver knows the trials of feeding a picky eater. Some nights are truly a battle. Nerves are frayed, and a pleasant, relaxing dinner can quickly be filled with tears, tantrums, and some nights, a battle of wills. Well, my goal with this book is to tip the scales in our favor. One surefire way I’ve discovered to get my picky eaters to eat is to let them help make the meal. After all, food tastes better when you’ve had a hand in fixing it. Let your child try their hand with the recipes in this book. A child who becomes the superhero of dinnertime is one who eats super well.

832DE720-57DF-440B-B0BE-01B9ADD8BD58

To purchase a copy of Be a Superhero in the Kitchen, click this link:

Purchasing Information


Leave a comment

Book Report: Andres and His Rubik’s Cube Madness by Andrea Alvarez #BookBirthday

E3A34AB3-F53C-4480-9B96-53ED474DCC7E

Andres and His Rubik’s Cube Madness

Written by Andrea Alvarez

Illustrated by Ana Sebastian

Mascot Books, March 2020

 

Andres and His Rubik’s Cube Madness is the perfect book for these anxious days! If you and your child are stuck at home due to the coronavirus, get yourself a copy of this book and your own Rubik’s cube. Accept the challenge!

Much thanks to Mascot Books for sending a review copy. Happy book birthday, Andres and His Rubik’s Cube Madness (March 3, 2020).

I loved reading this book about Andres. Introduced to the Rubik’s Cube by a new neighbor, Andres was inspired and challenged to try to solve the cube. He eventually discovers that there are Rubik’s Cube competitions all over the world and decided he wanted to compete. Hard work, practice, and dedication helped Andres learn ways to solve the cube.

I was amazed at how FAST Andres and other competitors solve the cube. At the time of the printing, Andres had a personal best time of 8.33 seconds to solve the cube. That is seconds! I take longer to sneeze. Congratulations, Andres!

B7A5AE80-E908-4974-9C0F-8B897CDC6BBF

Why I Enjoyed This Book:

~ The story is wonderful! Based on a true story, the author (mother to Andres) shares how he decided to accept the Rubik’s Cube challenge.

~ I learned so much about Rubik’s Cubes. There is an entire community built around competing and solving the puzzle cubes.

~ Excellent illustrations perfectly match and enhance the story. The reader is engaged in the story and illustrations.

~ Information is included for readers to use as they learn the algorithms to solve the cube.

~ Good writing and great story telling!

Our state just closed ALL schools for 6 weeks. That’s a long time, friends. I think this book AND several Rubik’s cubes might just help us to fill the long, long hours.

91C4ACA7-B759-4DBC-B17F-DD913FC7CBE1

Amazon Blurb:

When Andres saw the new kid in the neighborhood solve a Rubik’s cube super fast, he wondered if he could learn to solve one too. He tried twisting and turning the multicolored cube but it seemed impossible. With a little encouragement from his mom, Andres began to practice every day. And when he discovered a Rubik’s cube competition to qualify for the biggest championship, he knew he had to try!

Andres and His Rubik’s Cube Madness is based on the true story of Andres a boy who cleverly practiced hard and learned hundreds of algorithms to solve the Rubik’s cube in lightning speed. He was dedicated and persistent, but most importantly, he never gave up.

A017ECE7-6986-4700-AA92-B363DB0E182D


Leave a comment

Book Report: Jessica Tandy, The Girl Who Loved Candy by Susan Dils

DECED698-29F0-4882-9B58-9F9D2F96841B

Jessica Tandy, The Girl Who Loved Candy

Written by Susan Dils

Illustrated by Juan Diaz

Mascot Books, 2020

 

What happens when Mom finally gives up on the whining and lets her daughter eat all the candy she wants?

Yikes! Most can (correctly) predict the consequences of this sweet-tooth folly. Quick, make a list of what you think happens. I bet you’ve guessed at least one disastrous consequence!

Thank you, Mascot Books, for sending a review copy of Jessica Tandy, The Girl Who Loved Candy.

3F3E9E93-F16D-4D61-AAC3-432927000445

Why I Liked This Book:

~ Like Jessica, I love candy (though I rarely eat it due to the consequences of too much sugar)

~ Jessica, free to eat all the candy she wants, gorges herself, and then suffers overwhelming health issues

~ This book really lets readers know what will happen if too much sugar is in your diet (cavities, rotten teeth, poor health, grumpy attitude, sleepiness, general malaise)

~ The real consequences of eating straight sugar, even with brushing, are mouth and health issues; I’m glad this is included in the book

~ The book shares the path back to good health (and renewed friendships)

~ Love the importance of eating healthy, which was shared in ways I thought not too pushy

~ Great illustrations

~ I did want to shake the mom a bit (really? Jessica could eat ALL the candy she wanted??? But then, where would the story be?)

~ Fun and engaging, told in rhyme

4ABDF74B-FBD0-4443-A24E-A8BFBE1B5B50

Amazon Blurb:

Oh, how delicious it would certainly be
If we could all eat what we wanted freely!
Join Jessica Tandy in this humorous tale as she learns a lesson the hard way, finding out that poor eating habits can lead to a lot more than just cavities.
6454D7CB-1886-423A-8D36-1696069CEFC5


Leave a comment

Haiku Moment: gnarled

5B886423-57BA-4BCD-BBC9-DA93C0083CC4

grizzled and gnarled,

you lichened, weathered, old man;

desert strong sagebrush

 

gnarled by Angie Quantrell

Cowiche Canyon, Yakima Valley, Washington State